Sometimes (lately quite often) I use plastolin models to make the composition and for getting the shapes of cast shadows right. First I make a model of plastolin, then I try different angles, make some sketches, make some different lights and then take photos and use them as reference. (Also comic book illustrator Richard Corben uses this same technique. I think Dave McKean too uses it sometimes).

It's again possible that you can't spot the original model from the final work but still it helps me to think about the whole composition much better. As I said, I many times need something three dimensional before I can work with the final "painting". (Well... my work lately haven't been real paintings, I usually use Photoshop 80% and only 20% or 10% is done with paper and scanner.)

The most usefull way for me to make the composition and shadows would be making them in some 3D program, but I can't operate any! I hope in future I have time to learn how to use some 3D program for Mac.

Here's couple of examples of my plastolin models.

First a illustration for book about jokes (called "Pig Brother").
810948.jpg

Here's the original plastolin model.
810949.jpg

This kind of very simple illustration could be very easily done without any references, but somehow I'm more comfortable this way. As I said, I need to have something 3D, and if I can touch it then I like it even more.

Here's another excample made in same style.
The final illustration:
810951.jpg

And the original doggie:
810953.jpg


Here's something little bit different, first the final work...
810959.jpg

...and then the model for the tree.
810960.jpg

Here's the last one for this post. The final...
810961.jpg

...and the model.
810962.jpg